5 players who won IPL 2008 with Rajasthan Royals but never played in IPL again

    IPL 2008

    Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League which happened in the year 2008. Eight teams, namely Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers participated in IPL 2008.


    Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab emerged as the four semifinalists, and then RR and CSK made it to the final. In a thrilling game, RR beat CSK to become the IPL 2008 champions.

    While fans expect a majority of the champion squad members to be the same for the next few seasons, here’s a list of five names who won IPL with RR and never played in the league after that.

    1. Sohail Tanvir never played after IPL 2008

    Pakistan’s fast bowler Sohail Tanvir was a member of the RR squad that won the inaugural season. In fact, he was the Purple Cap winner, but he never played in the league again.

    - Advertisement -

    2. Younis Khan never played after IPL 2008

    Another Pakistan player who won the inaugural IPL season with RR was Younis Khan. The veteran batter did not play too many matches for RR that season.

    3. Kamran Akmal

    Former Pakistan wicket-keeper batter Kamran Akmal also did not play in the IPL after the first season. He was the glovesman for the Rajasthan Royals.

    4. Gajendra Singh

    Uncapped Indian all-rounder Gajendra Singh was among the players present in the RR 2008 squad. Singh never got a chance to play in the IPL.

    - Advertisement -

    5. Darren Lehmann

    Former Australian star Darren Lehmann won the IPL season with RR. He then retired from the league and became a coach of Deccan Chargers in 2009. Lehmann played a couple of matches for the Rajasthan Royals. Soon after, he became the first coach to lead DC to the IPL title as well.

    Previous article4 Indian stadiums which may host Cricket World Cup 2023 semifinal matches
    Next article7 captains against whom Rohit Sharma has never won a match in IPL