- Advertisement -

8 Indian batsmen who have scored a 200 in 50-overs Cricket

Prithvi Shaw 200
Photo Source: Twitter

50-overs cricket has gained enormous popularity in recent years. The most significant event in cricket history – the ICC Cricket World Cup – has 50 overs matches. This format requires proper technique, patience, and stamina from the players. It is not everyone’s cup of tea to achieve success consistently in ODI matches.

- Advertisement -

As the rules have changed, the batsmen have played an attacking game in white-ball cricket. Earlier, 240-250 was a par score in ODI cricket. However, the teams target at least 300 while batting first in 50-over games now. Sachin Tendulkar showed the world that hitting a double century is possible in 50-over matches.

Here’s a look at the eight Indian batsmen who have scored a double century in 50-over matches so far.

- Advertisement -

8. Prithvi Shaw

- Advertisement -

Starting off the list with the latest entrant, Prithvi Shaw scored a double hundred while captaining Mumbai in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021. Shaw opened the innings for the team in their match against Puducherry.

The opposition bowling attack had some big names like Pankaj Singh. However, Prithvi Shaw dismantled their bowling attack, scoring 200 runs off 142 deliveries.

7. Yashasvi Jaiswal

- Advertisement -
Yashasvi Jaiswal 200
Photo Source: Twitter

Yashasvi Jaiswal scored a double hundred for the Mumbai cricket team in the 2019 Vijay Hazare Trophy. He achieved this feat while playing against the Jharkhand cricket team.

Jaiswal attacked the opposition bowlers in Bengaluru. It took him just 149 balls to complete his maiden List-A double century at the age of 17 years.

6. Sanju Samson

Kerala wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson also recorded a double century in the 2019 Vijay Hazare Trophy. Samson had recorded the double ton versus Goa.

Samson aggregated 212 runs off 129 balls. He smashed 21 fours and ten sixes in his entertaining knock. Unfortunately, the Goa bowlers could not stop him from taking his team to a 377-run total.

5. Karanveer Kaushal

Karanveer Kaushal was the first player to score a double century in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Till then, Ajinkya Rahane held the record for the highest score in the tournament.

Kaushal accomplished this feat in the 2018/19 season. Batting for the Uttarakhand cricket team, Kaushal scored 202 runs versus the Sikkim side.

4. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan is the only batsman in cricket history to score a List-A double century for the India ‘A’ cricket team. Dhawan played a 248-run knock for India ‘A’ in the 2013 season.

Dhawan was very close to the 250-run milestone in that fixture against South Africa ‘A’. Nevertheless, it still remains the highest score by a player in List-A matches for India ‘A’ team.

3. Rohit Sharma

Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma was the third Indian player to register a double ton to his name. Rohit has scored three 200s for the Indian cricket team so far.

His first 200+ score came against Australia in 2013/14. Sri Lanka were India’s opponents when Rohit played his famous knocks of 208* and 264.

2. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was the first Indian batsman to score a double century as the team’s captain. Leading Team India against West Indies, Sehwag scored 219 runs in an ODI game of 2011/12.

Many fans expected that Sehwag could become the first player to score a double hundred in ODI cricket. However, he was just a few months late.

1. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar, nicknamed as The God of Cricket, was the first double centurion in ODI cricket. He was the first Indian player to hit a double hundred in 50-overs cricket.

Tendulkar achieved this record against the South African cricket team in 2009/10. After Tendulkar, four other Mumbai batsmen managed to score 200 in 50-over matches.