India’s Playing XI from last T20 WC match against Pakistan – Where are they now?

    T20 World Cup 2016
    Photo Source: Twitter

    The iconic rivalry between India and Pakistan will reignite this Sunday at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. In match number 16 of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will lock horns with each other. It is the first match of the Super 12 phase for both nations.


    India no longer play against the Men in Green on a regular basis. The two teams go head-to-head only in multi-team tournaments because of the political tensions. The last time India and Pakistan battled in a T20I match was during the 2016 T20 World Cup in Kolkata. India won that game. In this article today, we will look at the Indian playing XI from that match and where those players are now:

    Openers of India in last T20 WC match vs. Pakistan – Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan

    Rohit Sharma India vs. Pakistan
    Photo: Rohit Sharma/Instagram

    Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan are still active international players. While Sharma is the vice-captain of the Indian team in white-ball formats, Dhawan has been doing well in the 50-over format. Sharma scored 10 runs, while Dhawan managed six in that game versus the Men in Green.

    Middle Order – Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni

    Virat Kohli will lead the Indian cricket team in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. He was the top-scorer in that match, scoring 55 off 37. Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni have now quit all formats of international cricket. Dhoni remained unbeaten on 13, while Raina got out on the first ball that night in Kolkata.

    - Advertisement -

    All Rounders – Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja

    Yuvraj Singh has now retired. He played a valuable inning of 24 runs in that match. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja will represent the country at the ongoing mega event. The two Gujarati all-rounders did not bat in that game but took one wicket each.

    Bowlers of India in last T20 WC match vs. Pakistan – Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra and Jasprit Bumrah

    Ravichandran Ashwin bowled an economical spell of 0/12 in that match. Ashwin was recently recalled to the Indian T20I squad for the mega event in 2021. Ashish Nehra and Jasprit Bumrah scalped one wicket each. Bumrah is still playing for the country, while Nehra has now retired.

    Previous articleTwitter Reacts To Akeal Hosein’s Stunning Catch To Dismiss Liam Livingstone
    Next articleMoeen Ali praise IPL 2021 stint with CSK as reason behind good performance against West Indies