- Advertisement -

T20 World Cup 2024: Hosts, Teams, Venues, Qualification Scenarios: All the details you need to know


After the successful conclusion of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, the focus will shift to a shorter format. The next big assignment will take place next year. It is time for the T20 World Cup 2024, which is all set to take place in a few months.

- Advertisement -

Australia emerged victorious in the 50-over World Cup, while defending champion England failed to even qualify for the semi-final. So can they defend their title in the shorter format, which will be worth watching? The ODI World Cup produced some thrilling moments, and it’s time to move on to some more.

When will the T20 World Cup 2024 be held?

The last edition of the T20 World Cup was played in Australia in October, which was won by England. Meanwhile, the upcoming edition is all set to be hosted jointly by West Indies and USA. The tournament will start on June 4 and conclude on June 30. Unlike the last edition, this upcoming tournament will have a total of 20 teams taking part in it, which will make it even bigger.

- Advertisement -

Where will the T20 World Cup 2024 take place?

The upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup will be co-hosted in the USA and the West Indies. These two teams will, by default, qualify for the tournament. This will be the first time in the history of US cricket that they will host an ICC event. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has chosen New York, Dallas, and Florida in the USA to host the matches.

- Advertisement -

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualification

This will be the first time in history that 20 teams will be taking part in a single edition. These teams will be divided into four groups of five teams each. The format will be pretty easy, as two teams from each group will make it to the Super Right round.

Those eight teams will be divided into two groups of four. Every team will play one game against the three opponents, and the top two from both groups will qualify for the semi-finals. This kind of format will develop more competition and give more chances to more teams to play with bigger teams.

12 teams, including two hosts, have already made it to the tournament. Those teams are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, USA (hosts), and West Indies (hosts).

- Advertisement -

The remaining 8 teams will make their way to the tournament through the ICC regional qualifiers. These teams will be from different regions. Two teams each will be from the Africa, Asia, and Europe regions. One each will be from Americas and the East Asia-Pacific regions.