- Advertisement -

Team-wise full list of injured players ahead of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023


Less than just a month now remaining before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 set to kick-off on the 5th of October with the 2019 World Cup finalists England and New Zealand set to square off in the opening match of the competition to be played in India.

- Advertisement -

Almost all the teams that are set to take part in the pinnacle of cricket, have already announced their squad for the upcoming big event. But, with just now weeks left for the tournament to commence, almost most of the teams are now facing some injury problems here and there.

Up to 10 teams are set to compete in the upcoming tournament. Among the participants are the hosts India, defending champions England, last time’s finalist New Zealand, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and South Africa. These teams secured their positions through their performances in the ODI Super League post the 2019 World Cup. In contrast, Sri Lanka and the Netherlands successfully secured their berths through a qualifying tournament held earlier this year. Meanwhile, in this article, we take a look at the team wise list of injured players.

- Advertisement -

Team-wise list of injured players

Sri Lanka: Maheesh Theekshana (Hamstring injury), Dushmantha Chameera (Shoulder injury), Dilshan Madushanka (Oblique muscle), Wanindu Hasaranga (Hamstring).

- Advertisement -

Pakistan: Naseem Shah (Shoulder injury), Haris Rauf (Side strain), Imam ul Haq (Back spasm).

England: Adil Rashid (Cramps), Mark Wood (Sore heel).

Australia: Travis Head (Left hand fracture), Steve Smith (Wrist tendon), Pat Cummins (Fractured wrist), Mitchell Starc (Groin injury), Glenn Maxwell (Ankle injury), Ashton Agar (Calf injury).

- Advertisement -

Bangladesh: Ebadot Hossain (Knee injury), Najmul Hossain Shanto (Hamstring), Tamim Iqbal (Hip injury).

New Zealand: Darly Mitchell (Dislocated ring finger), Tim Southee (Fractured right thumb).

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (Inner thigh muscle strain), Sisanda Magala( Left knee), Anrich Nortje (Back injury).

India: Axar Patel (Multiple hits to finger, forearm and hamstring), Shreyas Iyer (Stress fracture in the back).