Sri Lanka Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Photo: Wanindu Hasaranga/Instagram

Sri Lanka will begin their World Cup Campaign against Namibia on October 18, 2021. With all eyes on the T20 World Cup, the national teams have been busy naming their provisional squads for the tournament held in the UAE and Oman later this month. Sri Lanka cricket has had mixed results in the T20 format over the past few months. Winning against a second-string Indian side at home would have boosted their confidence, but a whitewash against South Africa must have given them a reality check.

Earlier in the year, their tour to England wasn’t a memorable one either. The likes of Kusal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, and Danushka Gunathilaka have been out of favor of the Cricket Board since breaching the bio-bubble in England. Above all these off-the-field antics, the team’s on-field performance was miserable too. They were white-washed in the three-match T20I series.


Overall, the Sri Lankan squad is a bit inexperienced when it comes to the international level. Their most experienced player is veteran wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal with 59 T20I appearances. Moreover, only three players from the 15-man squad have played more than 40 T20I matches. On paper, the team is far from competing at the highest levels, but we know that Sri Lankans as underdogs have got that winning pedigree at the biggest stage.

Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, and opener Minod Bhanuka are the Wicket-keeping options. With a wide variety of all-rounders in their squad, the onus will be on them to work their magic for their nation. Shanaka, Hasaranga, and Dhananjaya de Silva will play a key role in deciding their team’s fate in this tournament.

Avishka Fernando will spearhead the batting amongst other inexperienced players in the fold. Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep will lead the pace attack, while the spin bowling will rest on the shoulders of the Chinaman Sandakan, who is more experienced among his colleagues.


Squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.

Previous articleRishabh Pant Reveals The Reason Why Tom Curran Bowled Ahead Of Kagiso Rabada In The Final Over
Next articleTwitter reacts to Dhoni’s sweet gesture as he gifts match ball to 2 young fans