Statewise Split Of Domestic Players Sold At IPL 2021 Auctions

M Azharuddeen and Vishnu Vinod IPL 2021
M Azharuddeen and Vishnu Vinod

IPL 2021 Auctions were held at Chennai on 18th February. A mini-auction, the event saw many records tumbling. While Chris Morris became the costliest player ever at the auctions, Krishnappa Gowtham ended as the most expensive Indian uncapped player. There were a couple of notable surprises too. Premier limited-overs batsmen such as Aaron Finch and Jason Roy went without earning any bid.

Amidst all of this, we also saw plenty of Indian youngsters gaining entry to IPL. In this article, we provide you with the state-wise split of all domestic players sold at the auctions.

4 Players – Karnataka and Kerala

Despite them not doing well in SMAT, the Karnataka State Cricket Association had four representations in the final list. While Krishnappa Gowtham ruled the roost, players like Karun Nair and J Suchith were sold at their base price. Talking about Kerala, youngsters like Vishnu Vinod and M Azharuddeen found bids while veterans Sachin Baby and Jalaj Saxena could also gain re-entry to IPL.


3 Players – Tamil Nadu and Delhi

C Hari Nishaanth and M Siddharth IPL 2021
C Hari Nishaanth and M Siddharth

Although many expected a lot more players from TN’s title-winning SMAT team securing contracts, the case was different on the auction-day. Shahrukh Khan had a good evening while the likes of C Hari Nishaanth and M Siddharth also got bids. Talented cricketers like G Periyasamy and Baba Aparajith were unsold. Delhi, too, had three players on the sold list. Pawan Negi, the popular guy, went to KKR at his base price.

2 Players – Mumbai, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Saurashtra, and Andhra Pradesh

Five Ranji Trophy teams had two representations at the sold list of IPL 2021 auctions. Some of the popular names in this list are Shivam Dube, Cheteshwar Pujara, KS Bharath, Arjun Tendulkar and Rajat Patidar. Shivam Dube had a good day as he took a northward route towards Rajasthan. Arjun Tendulkar, as many predicted, extracted a bid from Mumbai. CSK won the fans with their move for Pujara.

1 Player – Vidarbha, Gujarat, Puducherry, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Goa, J&K, Telangana, Punjab, Maharashtra and Rajasthan

As many as eleven teams had at least one of their players joining IPL 2021. Umesh Yadav went back to Delhi after stints in Kolkata and Bengaluru. He was the only man from Vidarbha to earn a contract. Sheldon Jackson and Kedar Jadhav are part of the list. While Sheldon will play for KKR, Kedar will be an SRH player in IPL 2021.