T20 World Cup winning captains: Where are they now?

    Paul Collingwood and Younis Khan
    Photo Source: Twitter

    T20 World Cup is the most prestigious T20 international tournament of the world. Winning the competition is a dream for every player, and do so as the captain is the ultimate goal of many cricketers. However, lifting the ICC T20 WC trophy as the winning team captain is not everyone’s cup of tea. Some of the greatest captains have failed to win the title.


    ICC conducted the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007, and since there have been seven editions of the tournament. Only one captain has been able to win the title twice. In this article today, we will list down the six T20 WC winning team skippers and where they are now.

    1. Aaron Finch – 2021

    T20 World Cup
    Photo: ICC/Instagram

    The latest captain to win the title is Australia’s Aaron Finch. The Australian side will have the golden opportunity of defending the title on their home soil next year in 2022. Finch is likely to be captain again.

    2. Darren Sammy – 2012 and 2016

    Former West Indies all-rounder Darren Sammy is the only captain to win the T20 WC twice. Sammy has now retired from all forms of cricket and is working as a commentator.

    - Advertisement -

    3. Lasith Malinga – 2014

    Lasith Malinga was the first Sri Lankan captain to win the T20 World Cup trophy. Malinga retired from all formats of cricket earlier this year and is currently spending time with his family.

    4. Paul Collingwood – 2010

    Paul Collingwood became the first non-Asian captain to lift the T20 WC title in 2010. England beat Australia in the final under his captaincy. Collingwood is now the assistant coach of England.

    5. Younis Khan – 2009

    Younis Khan led Pakistan to the T20 World Cup title in 2009. Khan has retired from all formats of cricket and has tried his luck in coaching.

    6. MS Dhoni – 2007

    The first-ever player to win the ICC T20 World Cup as captain was Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The wicket-keeper batter retired from international cricket in 2020 but is playing in the IPL for the Chennai Super Kings team. He was India’s mentor in the recently-concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

    Previous articleReport: Lucknow franchise make approach to Ashish Nehra, Gary Kirsten for Coaching Roles
    Next articleAakash Chopra picks his Best T20 World Cup 2021 team, selects Babar Azam as Captain