- Advertisement -

2 teams which have played with same name in all seasons of IPL

IPL started in the year 2008. Eight teams participated in that season, and only 2 have played all seasons with the same name.


IPL started in the year 2008. Eight teams, namely Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals and Deccan Chargers, played in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League.

- Advertisement -

16 years have passed, and two new teams, namely Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants have joined the league now. In between, teams like Pune Warriors, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions, also participated in the league. Meanwhile, Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced Deccan Chargers.

Most of the remaining teams have either gone for a rebranding, name change or even missed seasons due to suspension. Royal Challengers Bangalore recently changed their name to Royal Challengers Bengaluru, which left the following two teams as the only ones to have played with same name in every Indian Premier League season.

- Advertisement -

1. Mumbai Indians have kept the same name in all IPL seasons

Mumbai Indians joined the league in 2008. It was the most expensive team at that time, and currently the Ambani-owned franchise is the most-valued one. MI also have sister franchises in other leagues now.

- Advertisement -

Not many fans would know that the team name was initially going to be Mumbai Razors, but Sachin Tendulkar suggested the name Mumbai Indians. Since then, the team’s name has been the same.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders

Like Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders have also never changed their name and participated in every season of the league played so far. KKR are two-time champions of the Indian Premier League. They also have sister franchises in various leagues like CPL, ILT20 and MLC.