5 cricketers who have won IPL with both MI and CSK

K Gowtham MI and CSK
Photo Source: Twitter

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are two of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League history. The Mumbai Indians have won the IPL championship five times, while the Chennai-based franchise recently captured their fourth IPL trophy. Only a few cricketers have been a part of both MI and CSK teams in the Indian Premier League.

It is the dream of every player to be a part of either MI or CSK dressing rooms, but the following players not just got an opportunity to become a part of both dressing rooms but also got the chance to lift the trophy with them. Here’s a list of such cricketers.


1. Jason Behrendorff

Photo: Jason Behrendorff/Instagram

Jason Behrendorff made his IPL debut for the Mumbai Indians in IPL 2019. He played five matches that season and scalped five wickets at an economy rate of 8.68. In IPL 2021, the Chennai Super Kings signed Jason Behrendorff as a replacement for Josh Hazlewood. While Josh was back for the second phase, one cannot say that Jason wasn’t a part of the CSK squad in the trophy-winning year.

2. Josh Hazlewood

Josh Hazlewood was retained by the Mumbai Indians for IPL 2015, a season they won the trophy. Hazlewood was a part of the CSK squad in IPL 2021. While Josh did not play for MI in the 2015 season, he was a member of the squad at the time the season began. He played regularly for CSK in the second phase of IPL 2021.

3. K Gowtham

Krishnappa Gowtham is a rare player who has won the IPL title with both MI and CSK without playing a single match for either of the teams. Gowtham warmed the benches for MI in IPL 2017, the year MI won their third trophy. This year, he warmed the benches at CSK.


4. Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu has won two championships each with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. In fact, he won three with MI, in the years 2013, 2015 and 2017. Later, he moved to CSK and won in the years 2018 and 2021.

5. Karn Sharma

Nicknamed as the Lucky Charm, Karn Sharma won IPL 2017 with MI. Like Rayudu, he moved to CSK then and lifted the trophy in the years 2018 and 2021.

Previous articleBest T20 XI Comprising Players Below 50 In ICC Rankings
Next articleTwitter reacts to Rishabh Pant practicing wicket-keeping with mentor Dhoni