5 International stars you might not know have won IPL title with MI

Photo Source: Twitter

Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in IPL history, with five trophies to their name in 13 seasons. The Mumbai-based IPL team could not win a single title until the 2013 season. However, in the last eight years, they have ended the season as champions five times.

Rohit Sharma’s captaincy has been the primary reason behind the Mumbai Indians’ success. Besides, the team management has also stacked up the squad with some big names. A perfect blend of uncapped talent and seasoned pros has been the Mumbai Indians’ mantra to success.

Many match-winners have only warmed the benches for Mumbai Indians, and in this article, we will glance at those five international stars you might not know have won IPL title with MI.


1.Phillip Hughes

Starting with the only player on this list, who is unfortunately, no more in this world with us, Phillip Hughes was a part of the Mumbai Indians squad in 2013. The left-handed batsman did not play a single game in the IPL.

Still, he got a chance to touch the IPL trophy as Mumbai won the IPL 2013 Final against the Chennai Super Kings. Almost 18 months later, Hughes breathed his last breath. India and Australia recently paid tribute to him in the ODI series.


2.Alex Hales

England’s swashbuckling opener Alex Hales has been a part of the Mumbai Indians and the Sunrisers Hyderabad teams. Hales had won his maiden IPL title before even making his IPL debut.

After winning the trophy with MI in 2015, Hales played his first IPL game for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018. He played six games, scoring 148 runs at an average of 24.67. Surprisingly, the- right-handed batsman failed to make an impact in the IPL.


3.Nicholas Pooran

Nicholas Pooran in Mumbai Indians
Photo: Nicholas Pooran/IPL

West Indian wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran was a star performer for the Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2020. He wowed the fans with his big-hitting and fielding abilities.

Very few fans would know that Pooran was with the Mumbai Indians in 2017. The Mumbai-based franchise did not give him a single game and then released him before the 2018 season. Nevertheless, the Caribbean player won the title with MI.


4.Colin Munro

Colin Munro has earned an IPL contract from three franchises, namely the Mumbai Indians, the Kolkata Knight Riders, and the Delhi Capitals. While he has won the trophy with MI, he did not play a single game for them.

The New Zealander did not get attention from any franchise in IPL 2020. After winning IPL 2015 with Mumbai Indians, Munro made his IPL debut for the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2016. He played his last match against Chennai Super Kings in May 2019.


5.Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell had earned a million-dollar contract from the Mumbai Indians back in 2013. The right-handed batsman played a few games for MI and won the season with them that year.

Later, he played for the Delhi Capitals and the Kings XI Punjab. Maxwell’s 2013 championship win with MI is his only IPL title triumph to date. He had a forgettable IPL season with the Kings XI in the United Arab Emirates recently. He will likely return to the auction room before the 2021 season.