Playing XI Of SRH When David Warner Last Scored A Duck In IPL

David Warner

David Warner scored a duck in the first game for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the UAE leg of IPL 2021. Anrich Nortje from Delhi Capitals troubled Warner from the first delivery, and hence, Warner succumbed to him a few balls later. In this article, we take a look at the playing XI of Sunrisers Hyderabad when David Warner last scored a duck in IPL history.

Warner last scored a duck in IPL history way back in IPL 2016. He was the captain of SRH then, and the game was against Rising Pune Supergiants. SRH eventually won the trophy, but in that game, Warner was out for a duck. In IPL history, the Aussie had just seven ducks before the game in 2021.


Openers: David Warner (C) and Shikhar Dhawan

David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan were the openers for SRH when David Warner last scored a duck in IPL history. This opening partnership is one of the best in the history of the franchise. Though both are left-handers, Warner and Dhawan did well to complement each other and help SRH win plenty of encounters. In that particular game, it was Ashoke Dinda who took Warner’s wicket. Although Dhawan got a half-century, SRH could score just 118 runs in 20 overs. They eventually lost the game.

Middle-Order: Aditya Tare, Eoin Morgan, and Naman Ojha (WK)

The middle-order of SRH in that game comprised Mumbai wicket-keeper Aditya Tare, current KKR skipper Eoin Morgan and former cricketer Naman Ojha. Tare is still part of IPL although he has not played that much in recent seasons due to the strong squad in Mumbai Indians. Ojha has retired from the game while Morgan has established himself as a reliable captain in the competition. All three players failed in the game when David Warner last scored a duck in IPL history.

All-Rounders: Deepak Hooda and Moises Henriques

Deepak Hooda and Moises Henriques were the all-rounders in this game. Both the players had a crucial role to play which eventually aided Sunrisers Hyderabad to lift the trophy. However, in this particular game, both failed. Both could score just one run, and MS Dhoni was the player who took the catches of both players to get them out. With the ball, Moises Henriques took the wicket of Faf du Plessis.

Deepak Hooda
Photo: Deepak Hooda/Instagram

Bowlers: Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra and Mustafizur Rahman

Over the years, SRH has had a strong bowling line-up which helped them to do well in the competition. 2016 was the season when all of it helped them earn the trophy. While Bhuvneshwar Kumar led the attack, Ashish Nehra’s knack of picking wickets helped the team go a long way. Mustafizur Rahman was a rage back then and he was one of the architects of the title-winning edition. In this game, though, he did not bowl well. Bipul Sharma was the lead spinner for the team. The player also contributed often with the bat. He also had a forgettable game that day.

Previous articleIshan Porel Age, Hometown, IPL team, IPL Salary, and T20 stats
Next article6 Former RCB Indian players who are playing for other teams in IPL 2021