4 West Indies cricketers who have been part of Chennai Super Kings

Dominic Drakes and Jason Holder
Photo Source: Twitter

The Chennai Super Kings team has been a part of the Indian Premier League ever since the inception of the competition. The Chennai-based franchise grabbed the headlines before the season began when they made the biggest bid of 2008 Auction to recruit the then Indian cricket team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

14 years have passed and MS Dhoni is still the captain of the Chennai Super Kings team. The franchise have won the championship three times in the IPL. Overseas players have played a vital role in the CSK team’s success. West Indies team is the most successful one when it comes winning the most number of ICC T20 World Cup trophies. In the last 14 years, four players from the Caribbean have earned a contract from the Chennai-based franchise. Here’s a list of those four cricketers:


1. Dominic Drakes – Latest signing by Chennai Super Kings

Dominic Drakes is the latest player from the West Indies to join the Chennai Super Kings squad. The Caribbean Premier League fans would easily recognize him because he was the Player of the Match in the final game of the 2021 edition of the CPL. Drakes is a left-arm fast bowler and a left-handed batter. He has not represented West Indies at the international level, but CSK signed him as a replacement for Sam Curran in IPL 2021.

2. Dwayne Bravo – Best overseas all-rounder of Chennai Super Kings

DJ Bravo joined the Super Kings team in 2011 and has played for them in every season they have been a part of since then. So far, Bravo has scalped 122 wickets for the Super Kings, including one four-wicket haul. He has also aggregated 981 runs for the team.

3. Dwayne Smith

Former Chennai Super Kings opener Dwayne Smith played for the Chennai-based franchise in 2014 and 2015. He played a total of 32 matches for the team, scoring 965 runs and picking up five wickets.


4. Jason Holder

Current Sunrisers Hyderabad all-rounder Jason Holder played six matches for CSK in IPL 2013. He took two wickets in the match against the Rajasthan Royals but remained wicketless in other five matches.

Previous articlePakistan make 3 changes to T20 WC team just 2 weeks before match against India
Next articleTwitter Reacts To Shikha Pandey’s Ball Of The Century Against Australia