- Advertisement -

Most Expensive Playing XI Comprising Players Who Were Dropped By Their Teams In IPL 2022

IPL 2022
Photo Source: Instagram

IPL 2022 is underway right now in Maharashtra, with four venues hosting the league phase of the tournament. For the first time since 2011, 10 teams are participating in this season. Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants are the two new entrants, and both teams have performed exceptionally well this season.

- Advertisement -

Fans felt that the auction strategy of some teams was not the best, and a few of them ended up overspending on the players. Since the big money players could not perform well, they were even dropped from the playing XI. In this listicle now, we will look at the most expensive playing XI of players who were dropped this season. The XI costs 80.1 crore.

Openers – Venkatesh Iyer (8 crore) and Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 crore)

Two retained left-handed openers will open the batting for this team. Kolkata Knight Riders dropped Venkatesh Iyer from the team after his inconsistent performances, while Rajasthan Royals also left Yashasvi Jaiswal out of the team after he failed to make an impact in the initial games.

- Advertisement -

Middle Order – Manish Pandey (4.6 crore), Shahrukh Khan (9 crore) and Tim David (8.25 crore)

Lucknow Super Giants dropped Manish Pandey from the playing XI after the right-handed batter failed to score runs quickly. Punjab Kings did the same to Shahrukh Khan, whereas Mumbai Indians gave up on Tim David only after two matches before recalling him to the playing XI.

- Advertisement -

All Rounders – Kieron Pollard (6 crore) and Pat Cummins (7.25 crore)

Kieron Pollard had a forgettable IPL 2022 season. He was retained by MI for 6 crore but the former West Indies captain failed to repeat his heroics in this tournament. Pat Cummins did well in the limited opportunities he got, but the Kolkata Knight Riders had dropped him for a while owing to his disappointing show with the ball.

Bowlers – Varun CV (8 crore), Romario Shepherd (7.75 crore), Shivam Mavi (7.25 crore) and Lockie Ferguson (10 crore)

The trio of SRH’s Romario Shepherd, KKR’s Shivam Mavi and GT’s Lockie Ferguson will lead the pace attack of this team. Varun Chakravarthy, another player from KKR, will be the sole spin bowler of this playing XI.