Who is the King of IPL: Ranking based on players’ dominance

MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma

The Indian Premier League has become the most popular and most-followed T20 league in the world. The best players from across the globe gather and play for eight city-based franchises of India. Many cricketers have benefitted from the IPL, but it is one thing to play in the IPL, and it is another to be called the King of IPL.

It is the dream of every cricketer playing in the IPL to dominate the tournament like he is the King of IPL. However, not everyone can do that consistently. It will be wrong to name a particular player as the King of IPL, because everyone has a different opinion, and there are multiple players who deserve this crown.


In this article, we will try to list down the players who deserve the crown of the King of IPL.

6. Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina owns the nickname of Mr. IPL for his brilliant performances in the IPL. The southpaw has dominated the opposition bowlers with his superb batting skills.

Raina held the record for the most runs in IPL for a considerable amount of time. He is also an excellent fielder and decent part-time bowling option, making him a candidate of the title for the King of IPL.


5. AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers started his IPL journey with the Delhi-based franchise, then known as the Delhi Daredevils. After playing three seasons for DD, de Villiers became a part of the RCB squad.

The South African star has been a game-changer for RCB in the last ten years. He has destroyed the bowlers in the slog overs, and currently, he holds the record for the most Man of the Match awards in the tournament history.

4. Is Chris Gayle the king of IPL?

Chris Gayle has earned the nickname of the Universe Boss with his incredible batting performances in the tournament. He holds the record for the highest individual score in IPL.

Many times, a team struggles to score 175 runs in an IPL innings. However, Chris Gayle managed to achieve that feat in one inning against the Pune Warriors. He has also won the Orange Cap multiple times, making him one of the top candidates for this title.

3. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is at the top of the run-scorers’ chart in the Indian Premier League. He recently became the first player to score 6,000 runs in the tournament.

Kohli also owns the record for the most runs in one season. Also, he has smashed five IPL tons. Unfortunately, Virat Kohli’s team RCB have never won the IPL championship.

2. Many fans call MS Dhoni – The Super King of IPL

MS Dhoni has been the captain of the Chennai Super Kings since 2008. He is the only player who captained a team in 2008 and doing it in 2021 as well.

Under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, CSK reached the playoffs in ten seasons that they played, and recorded three triumphs. Currently, they are performing extremely well in IPL 2021 also.

1. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma top candidate for the King of IPL title
Rohit Sharma: Top candidate for the King of IPL title. (Photo: Mumbai Indians/Instagram)

Rohit Sharma is the only player to win six IPL trophies and to win the title in three different countries. He has won five IPL Finals as the captain of the Mumbai Indians.

Sharma has also been the Emerging Player of the Award winner. Although an Orange Cap has eluded him, Sharma has played destructive knocks in the IPL. His incredible success as captain makes him the top candidate for the King of IPL title.

Previous articleSRH Team Owners: All you need to know owners of Sunrisers Hyderabad
Next article5 Players RCB Might Release Before IPL 2022 Mega Auction